North Korea

The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea is a nation in East Asia occupying the northern part of the Korean Peninsula. It shares a border with South Korea in the south and China and Russia in the north. It has a total land area of around 120,540 square kilometers. Tourism is regulated so traveling throughout the country is mostly done via a guided tour.

Paektu Mountain, North Korea
Paektu Mountain, North Korea | Photo by Laika ac under creative commons

Key Facts About North Korea

Location Located in East Asia on the Northern half of the┬áKorean┬áPeninsula
CurrencyNorth Korean Won
Currency Conversion1KPW = 0.00111USD
ClimateCombination of a continental climate and an oceanic climate
Population25+ million (2019 est.)
ReligionAtheist state
LanguageKorean is the Official Language

Top Tourist Attractions in North Korea

  • Kumsusan Memorial Palace
  • Mansudae Grand Monument
  • Paektu Mountain
  • Juche Tower
  • Changbai Mountains
  • Arch of Triumph
  • Tomb of King Tongmyong
  • North Korea Peace Museum
  • Kim Il-sung Square
  • DMZ: Demilitarized Zone
  • Mount Kumgang
  • USS Pueblo (AGER-2)