Located in Southeast Asia, Malaysia is physically split between east and west. The Western Malaysia where Kuala Lumpur is part of sits on the southern tip of Malay Peninsula. The Eastern Malaysia which includes the territories of Sabah and Sarawak is situated on the island of Borneo.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia’s capital city, is home to the iconic, 451m-tall Petronas Twin Towers.

Batu Caves, Malaysia
Batu Caves, Malaysia / Bigstock Photo

Key Facts About Malaysia

Location Located in Southeast Asia. Shares borders with Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Brunei.
CapitalKuala Lumpur
CurrencyMalaysian Ringgit
Currency Conversion1MYR = 0.24USD
ClimateTropical; annual southwest (April to October) and northeast (October to February) monsoons
Population32+ million (2019 est.)
ReligionMostly Muslims
LanguageBahasa is the National Language

Top Tourist Attractions in Malaysia

  • Petronas Twin Towers
  • Batu Caves
  • Mount Kinabalu
  • Penang
  • Langkawi Island
  • Gunung Mulu National Park
  • Malacca
  • Kek Lok Si
  • Logoland Malaysia
  • Menara Kuala Lumpur
  • Cameron Highlands
  • Perhentian Islands
  • Taman Negara