Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked country located in Central Asia. It has a total land area of about 198,500 square kilometers. It shares a border with China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan. Kyrgyzstan is dubbed as the “Land of Celestial Mountains” because it offers crystal clear mountain lakes and captivating mountains and valleys.

Toktogul Lake, Kyrgyzstan
Toktogul Lake | Photo by Ninara under creative commons

Key Facts About Kyrgyzstan

Location Located in Central Asia, bounded by Kazakhstan on the northwest and north, by China on the east and south, and by Tajikistan and Uzbekistan on the south and west.
CurrencyKyrgystani Som
Currency Conversion1KGS = 0.014USD
ClimateThe climate in Kyrgyzstan is generally sunny, averaging only about 70 days of rain a year.
Population6.2 million (2019 est.)
ReligionMostly Muslims
LanguageKyrgyz & Russian are the Official Language

Top Tourist Attractions in Kyrgyzstan

  • Lake Issyk Kul
  • Sary Chelek Biosphere Reserve
  • Burana Tower
  • Ala Archa National Park
  • Skazka Canyon
  • Tash Rabat
  • Toktogul Lake
  • Ala Too Square
  • Lenin Peak
  • Mt Sulaiman Too
  • Manas Complex
  • Song Kol Lake
  • Ala Kul
  • Altyn Arashan
  • Altyn Arashan Hot Springs
  • Jeti-Oguz
  • Jyrgalan Valley
  • Kel Suu