Bhutan is an exquisite country in South Asia bordered by India to the west, south and east and China to the north. It has a total land area of 18,000 square miles or 46,620 square kilometers.

It is divided into three zones – the southern zone, central zone and the northern zone. The largest percentage of the country’s population is in the Central Zone.

The kingdom’s capital city of Thimphu is a stronghold of traditional Bhutanese art, architecture, and culture.

Taktsang Monastery, Bhutan
Taktsang Monastery, Bhutan | Photo by Kandukuru Nagarjun under creative commons

Key Facts About Bhutan

Location Located in the southern foothills of the Himalayan mountain range, between India and China
CurrencyBhutan Ngultrum
Currency Conversion1BTN = 0.014USD
ClimateHot and humid subtropical climate
Population800,000 (2019 est.)
ReligionVajrayana Buddhism
LanguageDzongkha is the National Language

Top Tourist Attractions in Bhutan

  • Taktsang Monastery (Tiger’s Nest Monastery )
  • Punakha Dzong
  • Zuri Dzong
  • Gangtey Valley
  • Thimphu Valley
  • Buddha Dordenma Statue
  • Paro Valley
  • Rinpung Dzong
  • Chele La Pass
  • Phobjikha Valley
  • Chomolhari Mountain
  • Jigme Dorji National Park