The Republic of Azerbaijan has an area of approximately 33,891 square miles (86,600 square kilometers). It is on the western part of the Caspian Sea and shares a border with Russia in the north, Georgia in the northwest, Armenia in the west, and Iran in the south. The capital city of Baku is a low-lying city with coastline along the Caspian Sea.

Lake Goygol, Azerbaijan
Lake Goygol | Photo by Investigation11111 under creative commons

Key Facts About Azerbaijan

Location Southwestern Asia, bordering the
Caspian Sea, between Russia and
CurrencyAzerbaijani Manat
Currency Conversion1AZN = 0.59USD
ClimateDry and semiarid 
Population9.9 million (2019 est.)
ReligionMostly Muslims
LanguageThe official language is Azerbaijani or “Azeri”, a Turkic language.

Top Tourist Attractions in Azerbaijan

  • Absheron National Park
  • The Caspian Sea
  • Shirvan National Park
  • Agh Gol National Park
  • Xinaliq Mountain Village 
  • Mount Goyazan 
  • Lake Goygol 
  • Icheri Sheher
  • Maiden Tower
  • Palace of the Shirvanshahs
  • Gobustan National Park
  • Azerbaijan Carpet Museum
  • Bibi-Heybat Mosque
  • Mount Shahdagh
  • Baku Museum of Modern Art

Check out our comprehensive Azerbaijan Travel Guide!