Armenia is a small mountainous country that only gained independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. It has an area of approximately 11,600 square miles (30,000 square kilometers. It shares a border with the Republic of Georgia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, and Iran. The capital city of Yerevan houses one-third of Armenia’s total population.

Khor Virap Monastery
Khor Virap Monastery | Photo by Diego Delso under creative commons

Key Facts About Armenia

Location A landlocked country with Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, and Azerbaijan to the east
CurrencyArmenian Dram
Currency Conversion1AMD= 0.0021USD
ClimateWarm and temperate with four seasons
Population3 million (2019 est.)
ReligionMostly Christians
LanguageArmenian is the National Language

Top Tourist Attractions in Armenia

  • Lake Sevan
  • Noravank Monastery
  • Khor Virap Monastery
  • Echmiadzin Cathedral
  • Noravank Gorge
  • Gyumri
  • Amberd Fortress
  • Dvin Archeological Site
  • Geghard Monastery
  • Selim Pass
  • Tatev Monastery

Check out our list of the 7 Most Beautiful Places in Armenia!